Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
gardendee_gw

Your Best and Worst Plants for 2008

gardendee
15 years ago

I am a newbie here at GW. I would like to know what are your worst and best plants for 2008. Worst will be the "never again" types and best are the easy, gorgeous and prolific veggies, annuals, and perennials you have grown this year.

My best plants are yard long beans, Kentucky Wonder pole beans, Mr. Smiley tomatoes, a heirloom yellow cherry tomato, cherry roma tomatoes, baby bok choy, banana peppers, purple and Thai basil, heirloom cannas, gardenia and brugmansia.

My worst are rosemary, lavender, round radish, variegated brugmansia, yarrow and snapdragons. The rosemary and lavender are dead-o, the round radish have lots of leaves, no radish!, and somehow yarrows and snapdragons do not even germinate!

I know I am doing something wrong that is why the ones on my worst list are not thriving. Suggestions welcomed and appreciated.

Thank you.

Comments (6)

• aseedisapromise
    15 years ago

Hi there,

I hate to see an unanswered post! I'm sure that everyone has plants they love and ones they love to hate, but maybe this is a place too far away from the beaten path for a lot of people to find. Maybe you would have better luck with it in a different forum, like one on herbs or vegetables.

I am in a very different zone, but I have good luck with snapdragons, which reseed in my beds if I'm not careful. Sometimes they even winter over under some leaf mulch. Maybe it is too hot there? I don't really know.

I grow Kentucky Blue pole beans, and they are quite nice, but so are Kentucky Wonders. We had a cool summer, so it was a great broccoli year here. I grew three kinds, and they were all great. I tried Opalka tomatoes this year, and they were not fast, but bountiful and I'll grow them again.