Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
blrhudugi

WANTED: Seedling Swap/trade

blrhudugi
10 years ago

Hello,

this is my first year gardening. So I plan on trying both winter sowing and regular indoor sowing. In fact, I just put out 35 or so containers outside and am hoping they will all sprout. I am expecting to have more than I need (or should I say hoping to have more than I need), and maybe some kinds of seeds will not sprout and I may need those seedlings from others.

Question is - is there a forum where we can swap / request seedlings (if people have extras) come spring time. Maybe I am looking too far ahead, but just wanted to know if there was such a thing. Also, what are the logistics for such a swap (meaning, I know how to send seeds - thanks to the other exchange/trading forums on this site; but how does one package a plant and what is the mode of shipping). Or should I find other members who are more local and try to do a face to face exchange.

thank you very much.

Comments (16)

• ltlwilli
    10 years ago

I would suggest going local because the sheer weight of the soil involved would drive shipping costs way past the roof. Also, the packaging is lengthy and arduous-- a real dud of a boxing job involving much time to cover the soil in the pot from getting dumped by the trained gorillas in the warehouses handling them---It is just not worth the time....Just my two cents.

• lovesblooms
    10 years ago

I think it depends on what you're shipping. If you're shipping tiny new plants, they'll probably do better for the trip in moist soil, which really would drive costs up for more than just a few. If you're shipping bulbs or still-dormant plants, bareroot works just fine. Cuttings, too. I've shipped and received several plants, bulbs, and cuttings over the winter (before temperatures dived here in January) with no problems.