Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
love2gardennc

Sophia is here. 7lb 8 oz at 12:04 this morning.

love2gardennc
15 years ago

New question,

I am not new to being a grandparent but I am new to having one born here where I can be with her from day 1.

My questions are;

1. How can I best help my DIL without being a bother. We get along great and I would like to keep it that way. She comes home (her home not mine) tomorrow, what can I do to help without being obtrusive?

2. What things did your MIL do that irritated you? What did your MIL do that you most appreciated?

3. How often can I ask to hold my new GB without looking like I am out to steal her affections away? Can I go and just sit for say an hour and hold her?

4. How old was your GB the first time he/she spent the night with you and without her Mom?

Comments (9)

• luvsgrtdanes
    15 years ago

Well first off a big fat congratulations to you!! Sophia is a great name, it is my Granddaughter's name too!!

Trust me your DIL will appreciate the help...watch her and notice when she looks a bit tired ask if she would like you to take the baby for a while~I am sure she will love to hand her over. I was a bit afraid I would be stepping on toes but my son was great and just said come over any time and we were there a lot. I was going to be babysitter a few days a week so it was good that I got to bond from the get go.

I think the worst thing my MIL did was to make me think she knew more than I did (and I'm sure she did! LOL)never ever correct her or make her feel like she is doing something wrong...no way no how!!

You will get vibes from your son and DIL if they feel you are there too much...is her mother in the picture?

We actually just had my GD sleep over for the first time, she is 3...but it was always my choice with the way I worked. I think it will take quite a few months for mom to be comfortable leaving her. Let her know in a kind way that if she needs a rest you are available.