Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
kms4me

Sweet little girl, and an unexpected kindness

kms4me
13 years ago

These last few weeks have been very hard for several reasons, many of which I will not go into. Like many others, we are at that age where we are going to lose people we love, namely both of our mothers do not have much time left. Sometimes life gives us double and triple whammies, and sometimes it feels like we are down for the count.

My annual plant sale started today, and as my husband has been layed off again, the money I make from this is very important. The forecast had been for good weather, but when I woke up, it was cloudy, windy, rainy, obviously really rotten weather... But by the time the sale started, the sun came out, it was slightly breezy and cool, absolutely perfect. I've been selling plants for 12 years, and this was the best single day ever. By a long shot. A big relief to say the least.

A woman came with her 9-year-old daughter. Normally kids who come with their moms get bored and restless, but this little girl is a BORN GARDENER. She noticed everything, asked lots of questions, was so sweet and polite. As her mom was checking out she pulled $12 in change out of her pockets and said she wanted to buy her Mom the white bleeding heart and the astrantia maxima. Her mom said she could pay her and she'd write a check to cover it all, but no, this sweet little girl wanted to pay me directly, solemnly counted out her quarters. I have 48 quarters on my counter from this darling little girl. I showed her how to propagate sedum, how to open bleeding heart flowers to see the lady in the locket, gave her a baby Japanese maple and a white crested iris, she touched me so.