Return to the Seed Exchange Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Should I trade these seeds???

Posted by vic_zn5 5 MT (My Page) on
Wed, Jun 4, 08 at 17:45

Ok, I'm new at seed saving, but through trades and sabe offers I've aquired quite a bit. I kept them in a bubble env. in a ziplock bag in my dresser drawer. Some I know how old they are, some I don't. Then I just read some should be kept in the frig. some are good for a yr. some for much longer.

I don't want to trade bad seeds, should I research each one to see the storage/shelf life of them? Or make a comment on how I've stored them so ppl know before trading? Or just keep them myself and see if they are still good?

TIA
Vic

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Should I trade these seeds???

Hi Vic,

Now if'n it was me...I would list the date it known, and where it came from...If I rec it in trade, and the date was unknown, I would just list it that way.

I see no need to tell how they are or are not stored. Very few folks, I imagine, keep all their trading and growing 'stash' in the frig...I don't.

I planted some tomato seeds that were likely 4-5 years old this year, just stored in boxes in bedroom, and had great germination. I was hoping for 50% but got many more than that...so now I am over run with great mater plants.

Sue

o

this is so true, i know some of the people talk about secret boxes and such. under beds in the closets and such. mine did great!!

o

i never stored mine in the frig, [my son sleep eats, noway im letting him eat my seeds!lol] ive planted seeds that were 3 or so years old n they came up
ive seen some trade pages that had
---old seeds from 06-----
list of seeds

you could do that?

o

I just had great germination from '01 and '03 seeds!:)
Like the ladies said,just list what info you have on the seed! Happy Trading!

o