Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lindaruzicka

just how big is...

lindaruzicka
15 years ago

a dahlia supposed to grow??? The one that was my grandmother's is almost to my shoulder!!! Is that normal???

Comments (8)

• agirlsgirl
    15 years ago

I am not a Dahlia expert,but I know Gramma has some pretty big varieties. Your Grandmother's is probably a giant type,arent they gorgeous? I haven't ventured into the world of Dahlia just yet. I have grown the shorter types that are sold as annuals here,(amazingly I had one return 2 years in a row!),but I am thinking f possibly picking up a few for next year and see how it goes!

• ollierose
    15 years ago

Mine aren't anywhere near that tall, but they are in their first year. I have seen some pretty tall varieties though. I hope mine get that big!

Diana

• luvsgrtdanes
    15 years ago

The dinner plate dahlias are rather tall, under the best circumstances some have been know to grow 6' There is also a dahlia tree that gets extremely tall...Post a picture of the flower if you can at the dahlia forum and you can most definitely get an ID. There are some very knowledgeable and great people there. Watch out they are addicting!!!

• medontdo
    15 years ago

ohhhhhhhhhh i want some!!!! i have small ones no big ones!! talla's are small,, but very pretty, i didn't even like them, she did. so i got them. now i kinda like them, LOL ~Medo

• lindaruzicka
    Original Author
    15 years ago

I even had my neighbor stop and ask what they were. When I told her that it was a dahlia, she was shocked!.."L"..Medo, if I can get seeds from them, I'll send you some.

• Chemocurl zn5b/6a Indiana
    15 years ago

PICS! PICS! We want pics!

Linda,

Is this the first season growing them? You do know they are not hardy in your area, and you will need to dig, dry and store them over winter...right?