Return to the Seed Exchange Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Help harvesting Zinnia seeds

Posted by threegirls0408 7 (threegirls0408@aol.com) on
Fri, Aug 22, 08 at 19:46

Hi all! Can someone please help me with directions on harvesting Zinnia seeds. I am new to gardening and I have alot of beautiful, healthy, productive Zinnias and I would love to get some seeds from them.

Thanks in advance!
Jennifer
threegirls0408@aol.com

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Help harvesting Zinnia seeds

Hi! I found a pic that may help. Make sure you do not harvest until the pod has turned brown,I wait until there is a couple of inches of brown down the stem below the pod,and still check to make sure the seeds are ripe before I pick! Good Luck! :)

Here is the pic,the other link I provided should also be helpful!
http://www.craftygardener.ca/infozinnias.html

Here is a link that might be useful: the seed site

o

when the flower dies off, just pull the outer petals off n seeds should be attached, or you can rip it apart n get the seeds lol ive done both
heres a pic of seeds if that helps.
zinniz lilputs

o
seedsite

good info agirlsgirl!! i love the seedsite!:)
i tend to take pics new of seeds so i know what im looking for or ill forget lol

o
RE: Help harvesting Zinnia seeds:)

That's a great idea!:D

o

HERE is a thread about it over at The Seed Saving Forum. There is a link in it too, and shows pics that are a little different. I guess the different varieties might have different looking seeds...maybe?

Sue...rbb

o

OOOhhh the seed site is wonderful...I found some new favorites to list on my Want List :-) Thanks agirlsgirl.

Kim

o Post a Follow-Up

Please Note: Only registered members are able to post messages to this forum.

If you are a member, please log in.

If you aren't yet a member, join now!