Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
hotshott

How do you keep all your seeds organized??!!

hotshott
16 years ago

I am a newbie and have gotten a lot of generous donations as well as several seeds I have traded. Some problems I am having are organizing these seeds. Right now I've got them all in one box. When I go to make a trade I'm finding myself thumbing through all of them.

Another issue is that I have looked up seeds on trade lists- trade for them because I like them, and them when I get them, I can't remember it's details ie sun/shade/height/zone/color...

How do you all do all of this!???

HELP!

-Monica

HOTSHOYGYRLY@hotmail.com

Comments (11)

• ctack2
    16 years ago

Monica,
    I too am a newbie. I'll tell you what I do, but I'm sure I will improve on this as I go.
    I have made an excel sheet that includes a lot of the info on the flowers. In fact, I have designed several.
    1. Flowers and Herbs I have
    2. Veggies I have
    3. Flowers and plants I want
    4. Novelty plants to try
    5. Herbs I want
    6. Trees I want (really just to research because I need to plant some trees in my yard)
    7. Veggies I want
    8. Trades

I also have designed charts to keep growing records for:
    Flowers
    Peppers
    Tomatoes
    Vegetables

Probably way more info than you were looking for. Anyway, as far as my seeds go.....so far, I just have them in alphabetized envelopes (business size) in a box that they just fit in. I have separate envelopes for flower mixes, herbs, gourds and mystery flowers.
    The veggies are all thrown together in a tupperware container because I only have a few of those so far. I'm sure that as I collect more seeds from trades or buying them, that I will find a better way to keep them.
    If you have Excel and would like me to send you any of the documents I have made, let me know and send me your email addy and I will forward them on to you.