Return to the Seed Exchange Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Trading seeds & learning too

Posted by akup_a 7 (My Page) on
Mon, Dec 15, 08 at 21:55

I'm not only trading seeds with wonderful people, I'm also learning all about plants as well. How cool is that! Since I'm new at growing things, I have to research the plants to know them. And I just thought I'd swap seeds.
Vickie

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Trading seeds & learning too

And then the soil, and compost, and bugs, and diseases, and... it goes on and on. When you get really bitten, you'll search out propagation methods outside of seeds. I've got my rack set up in the basement. Anybody want a butterfly bush? I've got about 100 rooting. I wanted to prune it so I could move it with less stress. I couldn't stand to see all those "limbs" go to waste. So I made cuttings.

Yeah, it starts with seeds. LOL

o

And I just thought I'd swap seeds.

It is only a matter of time before you are maybe growing out saved seed from hybrid irises and seeing what all the 'children' look like. Possibly something worthy of being registered.

Or crossing Daylilies...or trying one's had at hybridizing Daffodils...my ultimate challenge. I'd love to hybridize one, well actually several and name and register them.

Then one might decide to grow an heirloom tomato or two as opposed to just buying whatever plants are available locally. Did you know there are approximately 10,000 or more different varieties of tomatoes. Did you know them not only come in red, pink, and yellow, but also in orange, white, green when ripe, purple, brown, striped. Yes, I am an admitted tomatoholic.

Striped Stuffer

Doesn't it look like a stuffing pepper I thought it was so cool.

Sue

o

Oh my goodness, Sue! What a tomato! I've never even grown one common tomato!

Vickie

o

Oh Vickey!!! Beware there are sooooo many enablers on these pages....Sue being one of the biggest LOL.

OK Sue just had to pick on you since you were the first one to send me seeds :)

Kim