Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
young_gardener123

WANTED: Newbie Information About What Everything Means :)

Hi, I am new to GW, and I was wondering what a lot of the acronyms meant and how to do everything with seed trading. For example, what are SASE and SASBE, and how do you do them? I know they have something to so with bubble-wrapped envelopes and postage, but it would be absolutely AMAZING if someone could really explain it and everything else to me.

-Young.Gardener123 :3

Comments (8)

• kilngod
    9 years ago

:) link here below.

Here is a link that might be useful: SASBE

• young_gardener123
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Thanks! :D
    I know this might sound dumb, but what do you mean by STAMPED bubble envelope? Sorry, I just haven't really sent that much mail before, maybe just a few letters when I was in elementary school to pen pals. Also, are you the person who started the Adopt-A-Newbie list? :)

• kilngod
    9 years ago

Yes, I am. :)

You send both a bubble envie and stamps/postage to cover sending it back (with seeds inside).

An old school sase was a folded envie with stamps on it, all put inside another envie that delivered the whole kit-n-kabbodle. Often used for promotional offers, things that required a reply, etc. Kinda like a 'return label' from an online store.

Bubble envies can be reused a gazillion times. So, for an sasbe, you can just have a single bubble envie, and put additional stamps inside. Just like the shipping box with a return label.

-Tina

• young_gardener123
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Ohhhhhh, that makes so much more sense! I was reading a couple of other posts about it, which were so much more confusing, and I got kind of overwhelmed. Just wondering, what would be the right amount of stamps to put in the envie for the way back?

-Chloe

• xiangirl zone 4/5 Nebraska
    9 years ago