Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ishareflowers

how long to dry out seeds?

This is my first year at gathering seeds and I wondered how long show you let them dry out before putting them in small plastic baggies?

I have my seeds on paper plates strewn all over my spare bedroom and it's driving me nuts!

Comments (9)

• flwrs4ever
    15 years ago

Hi Lisa..you sound like me last year..there were SO many paper plates all over..BUT a wise person told me to use paper bags, and it is MUCH easier..I would take the paper bags out to the garden..place seeds into them, fold them..mark them with the date, and type of seed..and I left them sit a minimum of two weeks..then slowly worked on putting them into envies. I do know that they recommend using the paper envies over the plastic..the seeds will last longer and not mold.

As you know I didnt finish bagging my seeds last season..sigh. This year I am trying to do them as I go but I think once the seeds really start going Ill be stacking them up again..LOL

Good luck, and I hope you get more advice too..it is always great to get so many perspectives.

Hope all is going well with you and your garden !

Kym

• dorisl
    15 years ago

I second the paper bags and will raise you to save your junk mail envy's and use those also!

Much better use of space and much less risk of sneezing on one and blowing the seeds all over.

:)

• highplainswoman
    15 years ago

I'm in a dry climate, so when my lettuce, basil, etc., goes to seed, I cut the top half of the plant and just hang them up on hooks on the back porch. They make a nice, fragrant fall decoration and when I notice the seeds beginning to drop, I just slide a plastic grocery store bag over them, leave them a few more days, then shake the plant vigorously and the seeds gather in the bottom where they are easy to gather and store.