Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
hound_dog_gw

thinking about getting a pig

hound_dog
14 years ago

i have been thinking about getting a pig and i have some questions. I live in the far northeastern corner of Minnesota and i dont know of anyone around here for 100 miles that raises pigs. im confused about where i can go to get a feeder pig and how to transport it. i have a truck but i cant say that i know the best way of moving a pig. I think i want to get one maybe two pigs to raise till fall. thanks for any suggestions.

Comments (20)

• eric_wa
    14 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

hound dog,

I have no experience with pigs, but I think one of anything is a bad idea. Everyone needs a buddy.

You would think a large crate with 6 inches of straw would be a nice way to transport the little guys.

Good luck

I hope to have pigs one day
    Eric

• prmsdlndfrm
    14 years ago

You always want to have at least 2 pigs, they are very social creatures and suffer when raised alone, and this also shows in growing, lone pigs grow slower as they wont eat as much, competition makes them consume more and thus helps them to grow.

As far as finding feeder pigs, (feeders can range from 15 pound weanlings up to 50 pound fattening pigs) contact your county extension agent, he will know who raises what. Being out of the traditional corn belt they may be harder to locate, and the commercial hog industry dont help, but your county extension agent will be the best help in locating pigs. Also you can contact the feed mills as they know who buys what feed. Feeder pigs can be hauled in large dog crates.