Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
wertach2

Best use for old 5 acre pasture?

I bought my siblings shares of my Dads house. He used to raise a few cattle. I don't have the time or inclination to raise cows. Plus the fence would have to be redone.

The pasture has a very thick stand of fescue grass, almost weed free. I have asked the local farmers about bailing it on halves and they don't seem to be interested. Claim it is too small for profit.

I hate to just bush hog it several times a year to keep it clean. That's what I have been doing for the last 10 years of Dads life, to make him happy.

I have thought about planting pines, but that is a 15+ year investment. I need something low maintenance because I work 50+ hours a week, plus a 5 or so year profit potential since I will be retiring in 5 years, hopefully. Then I will have time to plow it under and plant a cash crop like corn, soybeans, or something.

Any advise?

Comments (10)

• goodhors
    12 years ago

Rent it as pasture, for a cheap price. With quick electric fencing, a person could easily put up THEIR OWN new fence for the use of the fields if the price wasn't too high. Does the land have a well and pump to keep them watered? Maybe a yard light for short days, when they come to check things?

You save having to mow, someone is coming and going to keep an eye on stuff. Charge enough rent to cover use of electric. Sometimes the power company will give a yearly rate, when you use so little power, for fence, pump, one big light.

Craigslist or local Shopper type news for advertising would cover a lot of area, to find renters. I would probably want some money to hold as a deposit, returned when they left things in good shape.