Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
burd66

New to Chickens

burd66
15 years ago

Hello All! I am new to chickens and the farm life forum. I am interested in getting 3 or 4 hens as pets. As a beginner, I need help with choosing breeds and housing. I want a docile breed that is friendly and easy to handle. Any suggestions? Also, I live on a farm with lots of potential predators. Any suggestions on coops or housing? I want to build or buy something that is very inexpensive and will house 3 or 4 hens. I would appreciate any advice.

Thanks!

Margaret

Comments (13)

• runningtrails
    15 years ago

Do you have any small buildings on the property? An old outhouse would be perfect or a small shed. The roof, sides and door will have to be racoon proof. It doesn't need to lock to keep people out, but fasten securely to keep racoons from opening it and rats from getting in. Insulated is good for the winter too, although with the addition of a heat lamp, not absolutely necessary.

You will probably want electricity nearby in the winter to keep the water thawed and usable in zone 6. Any small sturcture will do for just 3-4 chickens. Insulated is good. Are they going to free range? Do you have a fenced yard or pen for them to stay in during the day.

• natalie312
    15 years ago

Personaly I love the Rhode Island Red's. And as for a coop Runningtrails is right. Good luck with your chickens.

• msjay2u
    15 years ago

as a friend told me "when you get chickens you will know everything on your property because they all want to eat your chickens and/or their food." It is true. there are a lot of threads on here dedicated to secure coops. Good luck and keep us up on the progress. I have 2 heavy breeds a cochin and a wyondette. cold hardy VERY friendly and I love em. They both give me eggs every day.

Here is a link that might be useful: a set of instructions for building a coop

• velvet_sparrow
    15 years ago