Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
deeking15

I need Goat Help Please......

deeking15
15 years ago

hey everyone im kinda new to the goat world, and so heres my question i got 20 goats and 5 goat kids, some of them are a couple months old and some 1-2 years and none of them have id tags and i want to put some on them but i dont know if is bad for them since they are already grown up, or the kids are too young or what. please help me i really need to know this, and thanks for everything.....

Comments (4)

• seramas
    15 years ago

There are all kinds of tags. The best clip over the edge of the ear and don't stick out to get caught on things.

Here is a link that might be useful: ID Tag site

• brendasue
    15 years ago

You can put tags in goats ears at any age-usually over weaning age. Depending on the tag, placement should be where it won't be annoying to the goat, such as the eyes. Placement should also avoid the vein in the ear. I havnt seen any problems with tags in 3 month olds, not sure about younger ones. Please be aware ear tags can, and most likely will, get caught on something and be ripped out of the ear leaving a hole or a shredded ear. We've had the metal one piece tags, the long plastic tags, and the plastic button-type. All have been ripped out of the ears, though I must say the metal one stayed the best, and got snagged on thing less often.

I recommend tattooing-can't get ripped out nor does it cause cancer or migrate like a microchip. Granted, tattooes fade, but a flashlight behind the ear of a good tattoo job does the trick of being able to read it.

BrendaSue

• zeke
    15 years ago

the last time i looked up tags Allflex made a narrow # tag just for sheep and goats .Hoeggers, Caprine supply and PBS
    carry quite a wide vareity of equipment and meds. for goats , Hoeggers are alawys willing to discuss any questions over the phone .