Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
amiz5904

meat chickens are sad

amiz5904
18 years ago

This is my first time with meat chickens and I have to say that these guys are truly pathetic. They are 5 weeks old now and it hurts me to watch them waddle around. I put them out in a pen and they can't even manage to get out of their own way. They trip over the smallest object and any exertion makes them sit. I'm trying not to overfeed them so they don't grow too fast, but really, is this normal? It's so sad, they don't even act like chickens - no scratching, barely any interest in pecking the dirt. Genetics has really messed with these guys bad.....

Comments (44)

• sullicorbitt
    18 years ago

Thanks for the heads up, I was reminded of this recently on another board I frequent and I am thinking twice now before I order any this spring. Dh was going to order a few to tack on my order with my egg layers but I think a kosher king might be a better alternative. It's gotta be sad to watch but either way it will be sad because you know their ultimate purpose.

Kosher Kings are barred rock crosses and take a bit longer to mature but can be pasture raised and they don't have the same health issues. You can also spread out the processing time by several weeks if you choose as they won't drop dead on you.

-Sheila

• fancifowl
    18 years ago

You can manage those Cornish crosses in different ways, restricting feed to only 12 hours access per day and giving plenty of space, even outdoors space, is not inconvenient. It worked for me. I slaughtered some of the cockerels @ 3 weeks as cornish hens and the remainder @ 8 & 9 weeks as roasters. lost 2 out of 25 the 1st time I tried them. No leg troubles. Yep, they are a different kind of critter for sure. I dont like them untill they are in the freezer!

• Roberta_z5
    18 years ago