Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ilazria

Approximate cost of keeping chickens?

ilazria
13 years ago

I've been debating getting chickens for a few years now. I'm a mostly self-taught, trial-and-error home gardener. A neighbor informed me recently that her Aunt has a small coop and run (2-4 chickens) that I could possibly have. Cost is a big decision factor for my family. A free coop would take care one of the biggest obstacles. My other concern is the monthly cost of feeding/caring for chickens.

Could anyone give me a rough estimate of how much I could expect to spend on 2-4 chickens, per month? I'm talking food, grit, bedding, and anything outside of those 3. Research can only tell me what "should" work. I'd like to know what real people's experience has been. I need to know if this can work within our budget or not.

Comments (11)

• Jonathan
    13 years ago

Not including real estate, I think my 22 birds (12 chickens and 10 ducks) cost me about $12 a week. Feed is by far the biggest regular expense.

• brendasue
    13 years ago

Zootsjs has the cost about right, but that would vary based on location, your local feed costs, and supplementation.

Eggs here go for about $2.75/$3.00 a dozen. Organic is much higher. That should be a factor to take into consideration when looking at the costs.

You don't say if you have the resources available to supplement the chickens? You may be able to supplement in a variety of ways including using a chicken tractor, maintaining a worm bin, household scraps and/or garden scraps. Extra garden space can allow for beets and/or mangels to be planted for winter feed if your climate allows.

If you have good sized lawn, build a chicken tractor & save on bedding and feed; move it daily. Heck bedding here costs $4.75 for a bale of shavings and it's going up again.

Brendasue

• ilazria
    Original Author
    13 years ago