Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
natalie312_gw

Rabbits

natalie312
15 years ago

I am getting a rabbit twomarrow. I want to know as much as posible befor i get him. This is my first time rasing a rabbit, but I've raise like rats and other small rodents. Please let me know what you know about them.

Thank You, ~~Natalie

P.S. By the way his name is Cheastnut!!! :)

Comments (7)

• adirondackgardener
    15 years ago

Unless you already know enough about the care and feeding of rabbits, I'd suggest not getting him tomorrow and learn all you need to before even thinking about getting him.

Telling us his name doesn't help anyone who may want to help you. You need to tell us what you know and what you don't know. Do you have housing? Do you have feed?

Wayne

• natalie312
    Original Author
    15 years ago

We are planing on keeping him in his own cage inside the chicken coop. We have lots of hay, And the women who is bringing him to us is giving us some of his food so we know what to buy him. I know the basics i just need to know, like what can't they eat. What kind of bedding do they favor, and some other things!!!

• brendasue
    15 years ago

Like what other things, Natalie312?

We had a commercial rabbitry a long time go when I was a child. I'm a little foggy on details but we found the best set up was wire cages, hung from the ceiling. The bottom of the cage was maybe 3 or 4 feet off the ground. The inside was big enough for the rabbits to stand on their hind legs so stretch, and long & wide enough they could get excercize. They had wire bottoms, but they were reinforced with 1/2x1/2 wire after something started chewing on rabbits feet from below. The extra wire stopped that. The wire was cleaned with a wire bush, like a fireplace grill brush, when needed. The cages were inside the barn run, airy but not breezy, so no direct sun but plenty of windows. The run was always dry.