Return to the Farm Life Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Laying duck(s)

Posted by kimreko WA (My Page) on
Tue, Mar 10, 09 at 1:37

I'm new to having ducks. My husband brought home 4 ducklings last spring (2 are runners, 2 were mallards). Both pairs were mating pairs. The one male mallard went missing (perhaps a preditor). The male and female runners and the female malard remain. We have a large man-made pond in our backyard. About 3 weeks ago I found a lone egg in the middle of the yard. My husband and I moved the "duck house" as we call it next to the pond. Ever since then 1 egg a day has been laid. We had to go out of town for a week and a half and when we got back I found 15-20 eggs in the house. I see all 3 ducks during the day so I know they are not laying on them yet. It has become hard to keep track of the number of eggs because the straw is always getting moved around and over the eggs. Is it normal to have a female lay this many eggs? Could both females be laying in the same nest? I'm not sure what to do....

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Laying duck(s)

sounds like they are laying in the same nest, not uncommon. if they are still laying remove the oldest eggs, mark the freshest each day, leave 8-12 in the nest. They may both set but probably the runner will not set for long, they are non setters as a breed, exceptions exist.

o

I did a through check of the nest today. 28 eggs! It appears both girls are laying as I see half the eggs have a greenish tint and the others a pinkish tint. I will check again tomorrow to see if either are still laying. I wonder if I should try and hatch half myself?

o

Why not give it a try! They should be close to going to setting, at least the Mallard. Th greeish ones should be Mallard. What color are the Runners?

o

The runners are chocolate indian runners (but look black in color).

o