Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
missyz_gw

New to Guinea Hens

missyz
15 years ago

Hello,

I'm new to owning guinea hens. We live on 7 acres in South Jersey.

They free range, sleep in the trees at night and I've been leaving some feed and water so they stick around (yes - I started with them in a coop - (which they want no part of now)- and left a couple out at a time to get used to the area). So far they dont go far from the house - but its only been a week.

Anyway, I ran out of feed and really wont be able to get more till tomorrow. Is there anything else that I can feed them in the interim or just let them fend for themselves?

Any other helpful hints are appreciated as well.

Oh and regarding the feed, they have gotten used to me coming out saying good morning and feeding them. They are at the point where they come running to me when I call them - dont want that to change. My children dont even do that anymore :-(

Thanks!!

Comments (24)

• fancifowl
    15 years ago

any grain will do. I dont feed mine after snow is gone. If they are not fed regularly they will forage better eating more weed seeds and bugs.

• oberhasli1
    15 years ago

I feed my guineas white proso millet as a treat to keep them coming when I call. They also get shredded romaine lettuce which they love. My guineas roost in the barn at night and forage during the day. I also provide them with a Purina Flock Raiser feed. They lay their eggs in the barn, but I have a hard time getting to them before the magpies take them away.

Of all of my farm creatures, my guineas are the funniest to watch and I really love them, especially when they run. They look like footballs with legs!:-)

• msjay2u
    15 years ago

I just wish I could find some!!

• oberhasli1
    15 years ago