Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jgarzasr

Thinking about raising Goats

jgarzasr
15 years ago

Can anyone on this forum give me some info, and help me decide if I really want to try out this venture. We started raising chickens last year - and it has been fun (besides the neighbors Dogs being a problem). However, on another path to be self sufficient - I was thinking about Goats. Just a couple to provide milk, and possibly meat also. My questions are: How much money does it cost to feed and keep a couple goats? (I was thinking Pygmy breed). Also - we live on 5 acres but it is all wooded - is that an OK environment for them, or would they destroy everything? Also - are they real stinky, dirty?

As you can see I have no experience with Goats besides the petting zoos - so we'll have a lot to learn. But any advice would be appreciated. Thanks!

Comments (9)

• oberhasli1
    15 years ago

You might want to visit a farm or two that have goats to see what is entailed in raising them. You might try checking with your county extension agent or a 4-H club to locate a farm near you. Pygmy goats are cute but don't provide much milk and are not very easy to milk. Dairy goats and meat goats are not as economical to raise as they used to be due to the price of feed. Also, if you had problems with your neighbors dogs with your chickens, you will have bigger problems with dogs bothering your goats. Fencing is very important to keep out unwanted visitors.
    There are some good books on goats available at most feed stores or check your local library. I would suggest learning as much about them as you can before you take the plunge.

Oh, they don't smell,unless you keep a buck. And they are very clean, smart, funny animals to have around.

• riley17
    15 years ago