Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
aspire4grace

Newbie Here...Advice Appreciated

aspire4grace
16 years ago

Hi all! I'm new to the forum and I'm glad to have found it.

Brief background...when I was a kid, I was responsible for the feeding and care of the chickens and steer. I always wanted a farm...now I have one.

I have 16 acres, but the fence is practically non-existent, because it was built so cheaply. So that's an expense that we have to try to come up with to pay for, but until then...I now have 10 does and 1 buck (Nubians and Boers). I originally started out just wanting milk for my family, but it quickly grew to it's current point. The goal is to sell the milk, which I've been told I'll have NO problem doing.

I also have chickens of all ages, from 3 day old chicks, to full grown already laying. Oh, and we also aquired 7 female turkeys, with 1 dominant tom, and one extra male.

I have many concerns but I'll try to keep it simple.

I'd love to let the goats into the pasture, and I actually have been for the last few weeks, but now they've ventured into the neighbors property, and the street, through our "fence". So, I have to keep them in the paddock. It's small, maybe 25'x25'. I know this isn't ideal, but since they won't stay in the pasture, I'm kinda stuck at the moment. We're going to start working on extra paddocks soon, esp. since I've been told that if I run my buck with my does, my milk will have that "goat" taste, WHICH I CANNOT STAND IN THE LLLLEAASSSSTTTTT!!!! Sooooooo, any ideas on how to keep them happy since I have to keep them confined for a while?

Also, I asked my husband to build me a second chicken coop, so I could seperate according to ages, but then we ended up with the turkeys, so now they have it! But it's not NEAR enough room for them at 14'x8' even tho they're midgets.