Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
noellern

Help with duck care.

noellern
14 years ago

I just moved to a new subdivision this week and discovered the first day that there is a pond in the neighborhood. I walked down there and discovered that there are two ducks down there. One is a Pekin and the other a Mallard (male).

I have no experience and little knowledge about ducks but I have been relentlessly researching ducks and their care. I am very concerned for these two little guys...

Just a little back story over the past couple of days...the first day I went down there, I discovered about 7 or 8 eggs just laying around. All of them were cracked open with the insides seeping out. They appeared larger than the normal chicken egg so I assumed they were duck eggs from the Pekin. But I thought it odd that they were just laying around everywhere. I am not sure if some other animal is getting them or since there are children in the neighborhood that they are messing with them. Also, I grew up going to the local lakes and parks and taking a loaf of bread to feed the ducks but in my research the past couple of days, I have discovered that bread and things along that line are very bad for the ducks. I am concerned for these two because people in the neighborhood are down there at all times of the day feeding the ducks bread and such.

The subdivision that I am in is a new development. None of us in the neighborhood have been here more than a couple of months. I am however not sure where the ducks came from. Were they here before the development started or were they domestic and someone just dropped them off?

I am basically looking for any advice anyone can give me here. I am currently working on an informative flyer to pass out to the neighbors about not feeding the ducks bread and such. I am also planning to get with the owner of the land to maybe see about getting a sign put up at the pond also stating to not feed the ducks bread and such and explaining why.