Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
organickathy7

What to feed chickens

organickathy7
13 years ago

Shouldn't we all use what chickens really eat so that we have good eggs? You feed them processed junk food that isn't natural to them (including grains-not good for people either), then you get back what you put in. Very poor quality eggs and chicken.

I'm no expert at all, but I do know that nature was and is perfect. But, we messed her up. I believe that we should do right by the animals and earth, and they will give us their best. Yes?

From what I've read they eat bugs, grasses, mice, and whatever crosses their path by nature. Lots of water is good, too.

If you don't have poisoned lawns, they should have fun running around clearing your area of those pesky critters and clean up while eating a good diet that will provide us with clean, healthy proteins. They really should be happy before we take their offspring, or their lives.

Anyway, I just think that if you feed them all that processed food that even we should avoid, then their eggs and bodies will end up toxic to us. After all, as the old saying goes..."You are what you eat."

Thanks for letting me vent.

Comments (4)

• brendan_of_bonsai
    13 years ago

Animal feed tends not to have to much processing done, and no one wants to add anything toxic to feed, that would hurt production. Wild red jungle fowl may have less grain in their diet than chickens, but you need to remember two things, one is that chickens have been raised on high grain scratch for a thousand years, and the other is that galiformes in general eat a lot of grain. It's no accident that chickens have such a superb gizzard, it ain't for grinding grasshoppers either. I don't think that you will get any arguments here about the value of free ranging but supplemental feed is important too, especially in cold climates.

• carmen_grower_2007
    13 years ago