Return to the Farm Life Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
First time hatching Duck eggs!!

Posted by christie71 NY (My Page) on
Wed, May 30, 07 at 10:46

Hello--
This is my first time hatching duck eggs. I have used a samll dome like incubator. The temp hasn't been as steady as I would have liked during the process but I do have one egg that is tapping and cheerping at 22 days of incubation. The other egg seems to maybe be making a faint sound and nothing from the third(there are three total).
OK my question-- how long should it be before my cheerping tapping chick will appear? Should there be a time a time limit at this point? How long do I give the other two eggs?
For a brooder I have a 4" deep plastic container for them. I plan on putting a box(three sides) over the one corner witha heat lamp and using shallow dish with marbles for water and food. I am planning also using wood shavings for the bedding. Anything I havn't thought of? Any advice is greatly appreciated!!!! Thank you:)
Christie

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: First time hatching Duck eggs!!

You really need to get a good book on the subject and do your homework. Storey's Guide to Raising Ducks is about the best, and will tell you more than you ever wanted to know, but probably should.

The temperature doesn't need to stay as "steady as you would like", it needs to stay steady, period. Duck eggs take 28 days to hatch. I've never heard them moving and vocalizing at 22 days. If that's happening, they were incubated for a time before you got them, and are actually further along than 22 days.

Four inches is much too low for a brooder to keep in any ducklings, and if you're using a cardboard box with a heat lamp, it's a real fire hazard.

You don't need marbles in the water dish for ducklings (or for anything else for that matter). Wood shavings for bedding is one thing that you've got right.