Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
julia67_gw

Indian runner ducks

julia67
14 years ago

We have a pair of runner ducks on our lake, the female has made a nest inside a plastic covered cardboard box on a floating island. she has been sitting on an unknown number of eggs since april 4th and we would like to know how long she will continue to sit if the eggs are not vialble. For the past two days she has not left the nest as far as we know. She is being guarded by the male and Gilbert our african goose!

Comments (17)

• fancifowl
    14 years ago

Runners are not normally good setters but some might be. They will normally leave the nest within a few days after term.

• rantheman
    14 years ago

the normal time for them to hatch is 28 to 30 days from the time the LAST egg is laid so people sometimes expect the hatch sooner than it will happen. usually 2 to 4 days after this they will abandon the unfertilized eggs.

Rantheman BSc. AHT.

• dianezone5
    14 years ago

I'm no expert, but if she is still on those eggs you have a Prize duck. I just bought 4 runners and 2 rouens, knowing nothing about raising ducklings. After alot of reading, they all say runners are not good Mommies, but if you happen to run across a mother that will sit and hatch, that Mom and the babies are prize ducks and well worth keeping. That male and goose know what their doing, so let Mother Nature take her course and "ENJOY".
    Good Luck

• julia67
    Original Author
    14 years ago

Thanks for all your advice but all our worries are over as 4 eggs hatched this morning!! Parent ducks, Gilbert goose and 2 ole human duckies are very proud and doing very well so thanks again!!!! ps we are Brits living in France and our french neighbours think we are truely nuts!!!

• julia67
    Original Author
    14 years ago