Return to the Farm Life Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Ring a pig's nose

Posted by tchappetta SC KS (My Page) on
Mon, May 22, 06 at 17:33

Does anyone know where you ring a pig's nose to keep them from rooting? Yes, I know it is "in the nose" but do you just pull the snoot out and ring it as close to the outer edge as possible? Thanks for any help on this one!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Ring a pig's nose

there should be an area close to the outer edge in the middle where it is just thick skin, seems like you could ring it there, but I have never done it, could you google it? you might find something there?

o

I'm very new to raising pigs--we just got 3 this week (Wilbur, Hans und Frans)--but In reading up on them I came acorss this "Their tactile facilities are mainly concentrated in the rooting disc, where Adrian (1943) counted as many tactile organs as humans have on the palms of both hands". This is from an academic article about the "ethological definition of animal welfare with special emphasis on pig behaviour" by a Dutch author who discusses pigs' natural behaviors--very interesting!.. Anyway, I wonder if ringing a pig's nose is very painful.
AS I said, I am brand new to raising pigs and am glad you guys are out there--I'm sure I'll have questions!

o

It seems like we used to put the ring close to the edge on the top of the snout. This is what they use to dig. They squeal during, but they squeal just about as much just because they are being held down. Yes, the idea of ringing is that it hurts to dig up where they aren't supposed to be digging. They seem comfortable enough otherwise. If it's just the edge of the fence they are rooting you could go with a low electric fence instead to keep them back.

o