Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ellenh_gw

Incubating eggs

ellenh
15 years ago

I've got one rooster and two hens but I want more chickens. Neither hen is broody at all so I need to incubate the eggs myself. I don't really want to spend the money on an incubator so I taken the eggs and put them under heat lamp. I've got a tray of water under the egg tray for humidity. I'm also misting the eggs a few times a day. I turning the eggs 2xs per day. Do you think I'll have success in incubating the eggs? This is my first time trying to do this. I wrote the date of when the egg was laid using a sharpie on the egg because I'm going to keep harvesting the eggs for incubating until the egg tray is full. The eggs are in open air, not in any kind of enclosure. Think I'll have any luck in hatching them??

Comments (5)

• velvet_sparrow
    15 years ago

Stranger things HAVE happened...

But if you search on the Internet, you can find plans to make your own incubator fairly cheaply. Eggs generally need a balance of humidity and heat in order to develop properly. Offsets in either can cause problems with the hatch, and dead or disfigured/improperly formed chicks. :( Styrofoam coolers are one thing that may work. :)

Velvet ~:>

• backlanelady
    15 years ago

I was following a thread on backyard chickens about a person incubating eggs in an electric fry pan. I'm not sure how it ended up.
    What kind of chickens are they? You might have better luck leaving the eggs with the hen and when she gets enough eggs in her nest hope that she goes broody.
    Make sure the hens have an area where they can hide their nest. They like to get behind something where it's quiet.
    Good luck, let us know if your incubating idea works.

• mersiepoo
    15 years ago