Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
tracerracer

Really fast answer needed on chicks

tracerracer
14 years ago

I have 2 aracana (I can't spell worth a darn, sorry) chicks to introduce to my girls (1 yr on the 1st of May). I have one 'broody hen' (it does her no good, no boys) that I was told if I took the chicks out @ night and 'slipped' them under her when they were sleeping that would be the easiest intro for them............Trade the 2 eggs I have let her sit for about 2 1/2 wks now, for the 2 chicks.........Anyone think this will work? thanks for your time.............T

Comments (3)

• dgkritch
    14 years ago

How old are the chicks? I think I'd just keep them separate until the chicks are at least 6 weeks old, then integrate as adults.
    But, I'm NO expert!!! Just what I've always done.
    I'm jealous of the fact that you have a broody hen! I wanted to let my "girls" have their own chicks but no one wanted to set. I've got my Buckaroo to get the job done, but the hens just don't 'get it'!! LOL

Good luck!
    Deanna

• velvet_sparrow
    14 years ago

Lordy, I've got TEN broody hens right now! My coop and run and just one big grump pile! *L* They have taken to brooding together in groups or two and sometimes three, and mothering each other. It's cute. :) I've given them some eggs to set on, and they are really good about sharing, surprisingly.

If the chicks are within a few days old, you can try slipping them under her at night and removing her eggs at the same time. By morning she SHOULD have accepted them and they her, but WATCH THEM for signs of either group rejecting the other, and if it doesn't work don't try and force it. Have a brooder box standing by just in case you need to swoop in for a quick rescue.

Good luck and enjoy your chicks! :)

Velvet ~:>

• tracerracer
    Original Author
    14 years ago