Return to the Farm Life Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Wheezing Chicken

Posted by nhsuzanne z5 SW-NH (My Page) on
Mon, Jun 16, 08 at 11:33

My Speckled Sussex hen is wheezing like she has a cold. I have no experience with this but I think they can get colds. She is acting fine otherwise eating, walking around. I have noticed that the rooster goes after her to chase her off and she is off by herself sometimes. This behavior makes me worry that she really is sick.

Can anyone advise me as to what to do next? Should I isolate her. I wormed all of the chickens with Wazine about 3 weeks ago and am planning to it again in a week.

Any advice would be appreciated.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Wheezing Chicken

There are various respiratory illnesses that can befall a chicken, more info is here:

http://msucares.com/poultry/diseases/diseases.html

The cause could be bacterial, mycoplasmosis, infectious coryza...try to narrow it down by matching symptoms and suspected causes. Sulmet (a liquid medication with a sulfa base) can be added to their drinking water for some of these conditions. If you can, quarantine the sick bird and think seriously about treating your entire flock.

Velvet ~:>

o

She does not seem to be as acute as this site describes. Still, I have started my flock on Sulmet to see what happens.
Someone suggested that she might have something caught in her throat. Has anyone had a hen that this happened to?

o

hows the chick doing now and did you find out what the problem was?

o

She was doing well after her treatment of Sulmet. But in the last two days she started "honking" again and sort of sneezing so I put them all back on another round of Sulmet for a couple of days. There doesn't appear to be anything stuck that I can see. The rest of my flock is just fine so I am really perplexed. She seems fine but may have lost a little weight. I guess I just have to wait and see. I hate it when one of my girls is off.

o