Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
nosambos

Another Coop Question

nosambos
11 years ago

I bought this coop with a bump out for two nest boxes.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/MEDIUM-CHICKEN-COOP-CHICK-BROODER-POULTRY-HEN-HOUSE-/130446062852?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0amp;hash=item1e5f30f504

The total floor space would be about 9 sq feet. Being a novice I believed that it could accommodate 4 hens as advertized. After reading this forum I have to conclude it would be inadequate for winter confinement. If I purchase another and connect them side to side, adding another 6 feet of space will this be adequate. I should add the coop is enclosed in a run which is 100 sq feet.

I have read various comments about draftiness. How does one manage the door in the winter? I'm not getting up with the chickens to manually open the door. I've seen designs for linear actuators which will open the door on a timer. Are plastic strips like those used in coolers enough of a closure during the winter?

One last question. Despite providing what seems to me to be a comfortable nest area all four hens lay their egg in the same corner of the coop. Why?

Comments (3)

• laturcotte1
    11 years ago