Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
gourd_friends

skunk removal........please help!!

gourd_friends
14 years ago

Help!!

A momma skunk and her babies are living under our front porch. We know this because of an occasional odor in the air, and now we've taken up several porch planks and found her (them).

We set a live trap, baited with peanut butter on bread last night, with no results. And we are planning on baiting the trap with cat food tonight to try again. We know that if we can trap and remove the mom, we will be able to get the babies out without danger of being sprayed.

We need to get them out soon, as our grandkids are coming to spend a couple of weeks, and their mother would never forgive us if the kids got skunked. (although we hope we can laugh about the whole situation in six months ;-))

Do any of you farm-wise folks have any other sure fire remedies???

Jan

Comments (10)

• msmitoagain
    14 years ago

I'm not a skunk expert, but I believe you could get skunked trying to move the momma in a live trap.

Skunks are generally more nocturnal. Your grandkids would probably be inside when she decides to venture out for food. If they do happen to see her tell them she could be rabid and explain the horrors of rabies treatment. That should keep them from trying to get close to her. Find the stinkiest thing you can and tell them that's what they will smell like if they make her mad.

I personally would leave them alone and as soon as they start following momma, I would close up the entrance. They eat a lot of rodents and help keep them in check.

But that's me,
    Ramona

Here is a link that might be useful: MY BLOG

• marlingardener
    14 years ago