Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
msjay2u

chicken predators...can chickens be safe?

msjay2u
15 years ago

I am a chicken newbie and about to get some peeps tomorrow. Yes I did want Guinea's but I have not been able to find any so I am getting some peeps. I had planned on keeping them in the house until they were old enough to go out in the pen (that I have yet to build). The guy selling me the chicks said he did not like my coop plans because he said they leave the chicks vunerable to predators. He warned me of the dangers.

When I went to work today I was talking about it and one of my coworkers said I will sure find out what is on my property when the chickens show up outside. He said that chickens attract all kinds of predators and I have to worry about possims, coyote and hawks mainly. I remember when I had a duckling I let it out while I was piddling in the yard and there was a hawk on the tree watching it. I did not even know the hawk was there at first but so happens my car was parked under the tree and when I looked at my car it was bombed with hawk poo!! I took the duck back inside to safety.

I am planning on building a coop similar to this one

{{gwi:42562}}

it is going to hold 4 Cochins. I really wanted them to free range but this is the next best thing.

any advice?

should I put the chicken netting on the bottom too?

I brought chicken wire but the breeder said I should use chicken wire AND welded wire too.

Thoughts? My thought is if I am not going to eat the chicken I will be darned if I will let a freaking animal out in the yard eat it. LOL

Experiences?

oh and in the brooder do I need to put a top on it? I am using a 29 gal tupperware set up.

Comments (67)

• msjay2u
    Original Author
    15 years ago

awwww I am so sorry for the loss!!