Return to the Farm Life Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Meat Rabbit Farming

Posted by therian 6 (My Page) on
Fri, Jun 10, 11 at 23:22

Hello everyone I am new to rabbit raising but I raised chickens in the past. I have some questions but first I will throw out my thought process.

Start off with I want 2 bucks and 2 does, 1 M/F Californian 1 M/F New Zealand White. I will breed the the pure breeds ONCE to produce pure kits. I will then crossbreed kits for harvest on future sessions. End result will be 2 bucks of each breed and 3 does of each. Total of 10 rabbits (spares in case a male dies or doe doesn't like one buck)
I plan to feed them a 15% protein pellet ($10 per 50 pound bag) and Timothy Hay (will by a ton in small bales at major discount) I always like to keep a years supply in case something happens for example the economy goes south I can produce a lot of meat for my family.

My questions are these.
1)My main question is how long can I keep the hay and how long do pellets last?
2)How much does a adult rabbit eat per day (on average not look for exact)
3)Anyone have a good site for plans for rabbit cages?
4)How to choose quality stock for breeding, what should I look for exactly?
5)Is there a good book I could buy that would help answer most my questions?

Thank you very much for clicking on my thread and giving this a read. I appreciate anyone who can offer any advice or help.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Meat Rabbit Farming

It's been a looong time since we raised meat rabbits, I was the child in charge of feeding them. We had a rabbitry of 800+ (closer to 1000) rabbits at one time.

Your hay will last a long time. Is it for bedding or feed or both? They are only going to eat a handful at a time, bedding will be minimal useage. That hay will last a long time. Nutritionally, hay loses it's value quickly. If kept in a barn it will stay much longer, ours lasts the whole year nutrition-wise.