Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
woodrose711

does medicated feed cancel out vaccinations?

woodrose711
14 years ago

I bought my chicks from a hatchery that does vaccinations if desired. I got the vaccinations. I was told that if I feed them medicated feed, it would cancel out the vaccs. 2 local feed co-ops say the vaccinations aren't 100% effective and feeding medicated feed would not harm the birds. I have not fed medicated feed, but who's right?

Comments (9)

• brendasue
    14 years ago

I've never heard of this-though I'm no chicken expert.

It would depend on what you mean by vaccinations. If you consider coccidiosis a vaccination (which it's not), then you can probably find a coccidiastat in the feed, for instance. This would be considered medicine.

As far as annual vaccinations, to my knowledge no feed offers vacs within the food-nor should it. There would be no way to ensure each and every animal received the proper dose at the proper time for vaccination protection, hence putting the whole flock at risk should a disease be present.

More information on specifically what vaccinations you are referring to would be helpful.

It's true no vaccine can be guaranteed. It's also true medicated feed wont harm the birds, though I won't feed any animal a constant dose of medications/wormers for the reason stated above. It's like taking a daily dose of cough medicine just in case you might get a cough.

Keeping your pens clean, dry, non crouded, clean food & water, with good air circulation and it's half the battle.
    Brendasue

• woodrose711
    Original Author
    14 years ago