Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
froggiedawg

Releasing Home Raised Mallard Duckling & Other Related Misc. ?'s

Froggiedawg
18 years ago

Hey all,

I'm a college student home on break in Yakima, Washington for the summer. A few days after coming home in the first week of June, an orphaned mallard duckling showed up on the doorstep to my neighbor's home with no mother or other ducklings anywhere to be found. We left her out there for a while just to make sure mom wasn't off somewhere waiting for us to disappear before she came to the rescue...but no such rescue came to pass.

After getting it inside and with plenty of ooo'ing and aww'ing over the cute little devil from 7 women crowded in the kitchen, I decided to be the one to adopt her since I had the most time on my hands for the entire summer.

And then I realized I knew NOTHING about ducks lol...fortunately, our neighbor's sister had raised several and was able to give some very helpful pointers. To make a long story short, after a quick learning curve and countless hours of mommy'ing I have a very healthy, very happy 8 week old mallard duckling....named Daisy....who is either named properly so....or is a transgender teenage duck who will have issues in the future because "mom" jumped the naming gun lol.

Daisy is not surprisingly stuck to me like glue since I'm mom. She even slept in her own sweatshirt in bed beside me every night right up until last week when she grew just too big to stay comfortably wrapped up.