Return to the Farm Life Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
When to pasture Cornish Crosses?

Posted by gardenunusual 5b (My Page) on
Sun, Jul 1, 12 at 8:35

Hi all~

this is my first attempt at raising meat birds. I have been diligent about 12 hours on/off feeding schedule. My birds are almost two weeks old and are not interested much into the heating lamp. I've adjusted the temps up and down and they just don't seem to care for it anymore. I would like to move them outside and get them started on pasture. They are now starting to fly outside of their box, so I was thinking to get them started on attempting chicken life early. My thought was around four weeks.

If I do this, should I have a heat lamp outside for the next couple of weeks. It gets about sixty at night here.

Many thanks for any and all advice and comments ~ Cheers

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: When to pasture Cornish Crosses?

Sorry if this is too late.

This time of year we shut the heat lamp off as soon as the temps stay above 60, or when they have feathers, whichever comes first. I would not put a heat lamp outside-instead offer something they can go into, with rounded corners, where they can snuggle up together. Rounded corners are for if you have a lot of birds, they don't all pile on the ones stuck in the corner.

They are not old enough to go out onto pasture without protection: they will dissapear 1 by 1. They need either to be monitored, under and inside a decent fence, or in a solid chicken tractor. Provide many things for them to get under and around.

I've never heard of the 12on 12off method. We've always kept food for the little ones out free choice 24/7.

Good Luck

o

When are you planning to process these? You know that they are usually ready in 8-10 weeks.

o

A couple tricks I learned in 20+ years of raising chickens-