Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
sarahmpat

chicken butchering, what to do with the waste?

sarahmpat
13 years ago

I have just started my very first chicken for meat flock...well, my very first chicken flock. I got 18 of the frankenstein Cornish X and they are just over a week old now. They seem quite perky and social for the time being. Maybe that will change as they age. But regardless, I'm already getting nervous for butchering day. I'm going to do it myself and so have done quite a bit of research already. But one thing I'm not sure of...what will I do with all the blood, guts and feathers? I have a very small compost...but its not burly enough to handle the by-product of slaughtering 18 chickens. Any ideas? Also, any other tips or comments are greatly appreciated! I'm still learning! Thanks!

Comments (7)

• trianglejohn
    13 years ago

I've usually buried it kinda deep to keep the dog from digging it up.

There are video's out there online that show new ways of butchering where you skin the carcass instead of plucking and remove the meat in quarters without ever opening up the body cavity - far superior for disease safety reasons, but you end up with meat without skin (most people's favorite part).

When I used to butcher my old retired show birds I never bothered with plucking and gutting - just open up the front and cut out the breast meat the rest of it was far to tough to be worth the trouble.

• lazy_gardens
    13 years ago

Unless you have bears and raccoons, compost them. Mix the offal (generic term for "blood and guts and feathers") with about 3x the volume of dry wood chips and pile it in the compost pile.

Cover each layer with 6-8 inches of clean sawdust or dry leaves to control odor.

If bears or raccoons are in your area, you can bury the offal in trenches 8+ inches deep. Spread it thinly along the bottom of the trench. They won't dig unless it's stinky enough to promise them an easy feast.