Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mimi_wv

Hello, I am a Newbie!

mimi_wv
14 years ago

Hi all. I am a newbie and wanted to introduce myself and let you know that I have tons of questions to ask!

I live in WV and own 80 acres with two barns and would truly love to turn this place into my paradise. I hope to eventually have a small fruit orchard, a greenhouse and large vegetable garden and some critters.

My first question for the experts is this: If I want to try my hand at poultry, where do I begin? I would like to raise a few (no more than 10 to begin with) heritage turkeys. I am leaning towards Bourbon Reds but have no clue as to housing, feed, predator protection, etc.

Possibly a stupid question but does info about chickens pertain to turkey as well? I have looked at the WV agriculture dept website and there is info on chicken but not turkey. Any good books and/or websites would be greatly appreciated as well.

I am SO looking forward to learning from y'all! -- Mimi

Comments (5)

• marlingardener
    14 years ago

Mimi,
    Welcome, and you are going to love developing your "paradise farm".
    No, information pertaining to chickens does not necessarily transfer to turkeys. May I suggest that you google "raising turkeys" to get a bunch of websites that will be of interest and value to you.
    My husband and I have a tiny (compared to yours!) farm in central Texas, and we have a beginning orchard, hens for eggs, two large vegetable gardens, two herb gardens, and an asparagus patch. We have learned these things:
    1. Start small--you can always add on, but trying to keep up with a too-ambitious garden/orchard/livestock is very difficult and depressing.
    2. Ask the neighbors--if you have neighbors that have done what you are trying to do, their advice can help you immensely!
    3. Don't let it get you down. Failures are instructional, and also build character (you wouldn't believe how much character we've built in the past two years!).