Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
gardengalrn

Kitten in liver failure :(

gardengalrn
13 years ago

I've had cats all my life but learned something new this week so I thought I would pass it on. We have some kittens who all were doing quite well. Sun morning I was out early and noticed that one kitten kept throwing up after nursing. She has been a bit smaller than the rest but not alarmingly so and after seeing her throw up like that it seems more obvious. She started getting a bit listless but still moved around and nursed. That night we were scooping up kittens to make sure they all got in the garage for the night but she was pooping so I waited for her. It was pure white poop. I'm a nurse and I know that in people these are classic signs of liver failure. Mon morning I called our vet and described the symptoms and he agreed with me. For a definitive diagnosis, he would have to draw a fair amount of blood from her and he didn't really recommend that based on her classic symptoms.