Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
civilengr3

free-range goat?

civilengr3
13 years ago

I have 5 wooded acres, and a small shed. Looking at getting a nigerian wether, but I have no experience with goats. first question: can I keep him on my property without tying up or fencing in, or will it tend to wander?

Comments (11)

• oberhasli1
    13 years ago

He will wander and he will be lonely. Goats are herd animals and always do better with another companion. He would need to be fenced to also keep predators out of his area. Your goat would need to be able to keep out of inclement weather in a shed or lean-to type of arrangement. I would do some research on-line and find out about Nigerians and goat diseases, vaccinations, hoof-trimming, etc., before you take the plunge.

Bonnie

• lilbitfarms
    13 years ago

all goats need another goat, especially the little ones. we have 2 nigerian wethers. they are wonderful pets, but definately need to be fenced. they typically will not wander too far from their shelter, but a lone goat or even 2 will stray as far as they please with out bounderies. they do require vac, worming and hoof trimming all of which you can do yourself, as we do. depending on the weather where you are they will need shelter, they do not handle the rain and any cold very well, they are tiny. i hope you find this helpful we love our little ones and i wish you luck.

• lazy_gardens
    13 years ago

A free range goat = coyote dinner

• oregonwoodsmoke
    13 years ago

There are two free range goats in my area. Or else someone dumped them off to "go and live on a farm" like they do with unwanted cats and dogs.

They are going to be road kill or coyote dinner very soon. They wander around in the middle of the road, and nobody drives slow.

I can hear the coyotes singing every night. It's not going to take them long to discover those goats.

• lazy_gardens
    13 years ago

Oregon - can you catch them?

• oregonwoodsmoke
    13 years ago