Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
bigamie

Chicken/veggie garden safety

bigamie
10 years ago

Hello. I am not sure where to post this but I have a few questions. I have 6 hens that I sometimes let out in my small yard/garden. I blocked off my garden areas about 45 days ago. Should I worry about salmonella on my tomatoes or peppers? Not so much worried about myself but giving my stuff to my extended family which includes the young nd old. I just don't want to give them more than they bargained for. Thanks I am a total chicken newbie my first hen just started laying 12 days ago!!! The pic isn't that good of one but its taken before I blocked them out.

Comments (5)

• bigamie
    Original Author
    10 years ago

I forgot to post my other questions. Can I just pull weeds and throw them on the run or do they need to be chopped up? Same with table scraps or compost items? Any suggestions on seeds I could plant in flats for sprouts for them? I just switched my new food to the breakfast of champion layers. Does anyone have any thoughts/experience with this?

Here is a link that might be useful: Breakfast of champion layers

This post was edited by bigamie on Thu, Aug 29, 13 at 16:40

• Sumatra
    10 years ago

Salmonella occurs in about 1 out of every 25,000 eggs due to improper washing procedures at the plant. The chance of this happening to any of your veggies is 0, so long as you rinse them. If you don't clean your produce, well, you've got other things to worry about like the bacteria that naturally occur in soil, like staph, clostridium, and botulism.

Now... having chickens eat your peppers and tomatoes is much more likely. Birds don't have as many taste buds as other mammals and won't care whose food it is.