Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
wjason777

Starting a farm from scratch

wjason777
9 years ago

I'm a veteran, that wants to start a farm from scratch. I have a career already so I'm not looking to make any profits at all but I'm the near future I would like to. I'm just looking to gain as much experience as possible during his process. I don't won't to lease or work on someone's else farm. I prefer to have my own.
I've found a perfect parcel 34 acres for $66000. Only thing is it's wooded. I have the 25% that the bank requires for a loan. But if I would to pay the 25% I wouldn't have any cash left over to get the land cleared or cash for equipment etc.
Could someone point me in the right direction to getting me started and on my feet.

Comments (10)

• insteng
    9 years ago

What are you wanting to use it for? You could easily end up spending twice that amount. You need to start small if you are limited on money. You could always buy the land and only use part of it until you can aford to expand and start using more and more of it. I bought 56 acres myself and use about 5 for fruit trees and garden right now and lease the rest out for cattle.

• wjason777
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Yea I'm starting to see it would be cheaper to find some land that's already been cleared. But it's hard finding something that I could afford.

I would like to use it for cattle mostly with about 3 acres for a greenhouse, and crops

• insteng
    9 years ago

It is hard to make any money at cattle especailly if you have a limited amount of land. Most of the people I know barely break even on their cattle after all their expenses.

• insteng
    9 years ago

It is hard to make any money at cattle especailly if you have a limited amount of land. Most of the people I know barely break even on their cattle after all their expenses.

• wjason777
    Original Author
    9 years ago