Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
t_bred

sick hen, please help

t_bred
15 years ago

Hello everyone. I have 5 hens and 1 little bantam rooster. Over the past week, one of my hens has become ill. She is about 2 years old. Over the past week her stool has become very watery and has gotten stuck all over her backside. Her appetite has dropped off, she is tucking her tail and is very lethargic. I understand it is very diffcult to diagnose such symptoms but any ideas would be greatly appreciated. I have been administering Amprol for coccidiosis but that has made no difference. Many thanks in advance!!

Comments (8)

• johanna_h
    15 years ago

I'm not good at diagnosing, but my advice is that you isolate her, give her extra heat and monitor whether she's eating. She could be eggbound or have a parasite or disease.

In my experience, sometimes just putting the hen in her own cage with a heat lamp (don't overheat her, but make it so her body doesn't have to expend energy to heat itself) for a few days gives the system a chance to heal itself.

Good luck.

--Johanna

• t_bred
    Original Author
    15 years ago

Thank you so much for your quick response Johanna!! I read about egg bind after you mentioned it and soaked her in warm water for awhile. I have also isolated her and put a brooder lamp nearby. While checking her out more closely, I noticed the area between her legs is very distended feels like a very large water baloon. I did not feel an impacted egg, just a very large "squishy" area. I compared her with the other hens and none of the others had this. Any other thoughts would be very welcomed!

• marymac
    15 years ago

Hi t-bred

I'm fairly new to keeping chickens, but i read a lot over at backyard chickens. They have so many knowlagable people there someone may be able to help you out,. Poor little hen, I do hope she gets better for you. Good Luck.

• farmerintraining
    15 years ago