Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
nhsuzanne_gw

Free Range Chickens

nhsuzanne
17 years ago

I am raising my first brood of chickens so I am a newbie at this. They are now three months old and all doing very well.

I want to be able to let them out of the pen for a couple of hours each night after work and I am wondering how old they should be before I can start doing this?

They faithfully go into to roost in the coop every night at dusk. Would they still do this if I let them out in the late afternoon?

Comments (20)

• GennyM
    17 years ago

I don't know about the age thing since I don't have any chickens.

My ducks walk around our 3 acre yard all day and at night they always come back to their little pen (that I leave open) and get in their house. I think your chickens would come back to their pen/bran/house everytime they got ready to go to bed. Just watch them and see what happens.

• velvet_sparrow
    17 years ago

Exactly what gennym said...

You do need to be there to close them up at dusk if they free range, though, or run the risk of predators getting at them--chickens sleep very soundly and have poor night vision.

Mine all go to the coop on their own, but then the coop is the most desirable roost. I have several youngsters right now that are being rebellious and trying to roost in the nectarine tree, where we have to shoo them out and into the coop at night. They'll learn, though. :)

Velvet ~:>

• Roberta_z5
    17 years ago

At three months old they are large enough to be allowed to free range. Ours are let out in the early morning and they come home to roost at dusk. We then lock them in for the night. Their nest boxes are in their hoop houses and they started using/laying eggs in them at about four months. Right now we have 20 hens and three roos that free range.

We have another 50 pullets that are two months old and still in a enclosed yard protected by a electric mesh fence. They will join the others in another month.