Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
oosul

chicken coop temperature

oosul
14 years ago

I built a well insulated chicken coop. During the day the inside of the coop gets to be around 63 degrees F with my light on.

At night when the light turns off it cools down

to 33 degrees F. So my question is... is 30 degrees fluctuation okay for my chickens?

I am very very new at all this. I have looked in two chicken books and online for

average/general temps of coops but I couldnt find anything.

Someone at the feed store told me to try and keep the temp at 40 and someone else said just make sure it stay at or above freezing. Is 63 degrees too hot?

Comments (11)

• velvet_sparrow
    14 years ago

Where are you and how are the summer/winter temps? Also, what breed(s) are the chickens?

'Heavy' breeds such as Orpingtons are bred for colder climates. In addition to being big ol' fat chickens, they carry a thick suit of feathers and have small combs that better resist freezing. Leghorns on the other hand, are skinnier and are without the extra-thick feather coat, and have large combs that tend to get frostbitten in cold winters.

Lots of people in cold winters leave a light burning in the coop at night to help warm it, or use something like a milk barn heater.

Velvet ~:>

• oosul
    Original Author
    14 years ago

They are Red Stars from Mcmurray Hatchery.
    I am just north of British Colombia so it gets pretty
    cold here in the winter. Around -20 degrees F sometimes.
    I have my light timer set for 14 hours from 8am to 10pm.

• luke_oh
    14 years ago

I don't think that the fluxuation in temp. is a problem. But -20? What type of light do you have? Is this just to keep them laying in the winter or is it a heat source? both?