Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
woodhousefarms

Duck eggs taking forever to hatch?

woodhousefarms
13 years ago

I have a duck egg in the incubator that started moving around 4 days ago. 2 days ago, it started making little peeping noises. Last night there was a teeeeny (about the size of a small raisin) portion of the shell that was starting to be cracked and pushed out, so this morning I was expecting some real progress, maybe even a baby! But this morning the egg looks almost exactly the same. The tiny pushed out area is a tiny bit bigger but almost unnoticeably so. The baby is chirping and the egg is wiggling and you can hear it tapping (it's cute too, when you talk to it, it moves more).... This is my first time hatching duck eggs and I know I'm not supposed to ever try to help it out, but I'm wondering how long this might take before I should start getting worried? This is the 3rd day I've been hearing the tapping.... Is this usual?

Comments (2)

• goldenpond
    13 years ago

i AM COPYING THIS FROM THE SITE. i HAVE NEVER INC. ONLY MOMMMA DUCK HATCHED MINE

possumdes by possumde...

* Best answer 52%
    * 54 answers

590 (Level 2)

Best Answer - Chosen by Voters
    Keep an eye on them, if the shells are too dry from an incubator or the mum sitting too tight, sometimes the shell can be too hard for them to get out of. I do think though that at this point you should break them out carefully (or at least one to see how things are going) and start at the top where they are already chipping.
    My elderly father is here at the moment and he used to live on farm. He said that he never bothered to time how long it took chooks or ducks to hatch, but thinks several hours at least. We used to breed canaries and from memory they took anywhere form a couple of hours to about 4-5 hours.