Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
msmitoagain

can you tell?

msmitoagain
15 years ago

if this is a rooster or a hen. This is one of the 2 that I got from a friend whose neice got as easter chicks. Haven't heard any crowing. Don't seem to be setting the nests, although the other easter chick we got has just started laying (a barred rock).

These kind of look like Buff Orpington's to me, but they are taller than the other 2 Buff Orp roosters that we have.

These 2 do occasionally butt chests with each other, no big fights, just like to deer's ramming each other.

{{gwi:47213}}

{{gwi:47214}}

Here is a link that might be useful: MY BLOG

Comments (10)

• farmerintraining
    15 years ago

I am not really sure but kinda looks like a hen. Does it seem to be developing spurs? I am just learning about chicks use to have some as a kid but that has been 35 years ago. wish i had paid more attention back then.

• rnold5
    15 years ago

I would say Roo. Take a look at those saddle feathers (they're the ones right in front of the tail). They look pointed, whereas on a hen they will be rounded.

• seramas
    15 years ago

I agree with Barnold-it's a Roo. The hackle (neck feathers) and saddle feathers are pointed. Looks to be approx 22 to 24 weeks old by the development of feathers between the waddles and eye. I agree with you that it is a Buff Orpington but not from a quality bloodline.

• msmitoagain
    Original Author
    15 years ago

Thanks everybody. Now what to do with 4 roosters. Don't tell me to eat them, not going to do that.

Can 4 roosters be put into a coop by themselves and get along?

We didn't want any roosters, the man said we picked out all hens. Except these 2 were given to us like I said.

• seramas
    15 years ago

msmitoagain-You seem old enough to know--never believe what a mortgage banker-car dealer or chicken salesman say.

Put a small ad in a local rag-'Roosters 4 sale or Trade for hens'.