Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jojolulu123

corn causing feather loss?

jojo54
14 years ago

I am new to chickens (got day olds end of June) and one of the girls started laying last week. I needed to get feed so at the feed store told the clerk and she said to get layer pellets instead of grower pellets. She also said to give them some corn because they need more than what is in the layer pellets. She said though that I shouldn't give them too much because it would cause them to lose feathers and we don't want that this time of year because they will get too cold. I tried to ask why this would happen but she just said something about them heating up and left it at that. Does this happen? I have been feeding them a fair bit of corn because we had lots left that got too old for us and they seem to really love it. I got the old corn from my neighbour, dried it out and removed it from the cobs so I have a fair bit of corn to last the winter. There are alot of feathers laying around but I do have 31 birds and none of them look bald or anything. Have I been giving them too much? We live in BC, Canada and it does get cold here in the winter but not for another month or so. They stay outside all day, lately even when it rains and seem to be very healthy. They only go into the coop to roost at night and of course, the one girl to lay her egg. Does anyone know about this? Thanks in advance.

Comments (7)

• annzgw
    14 years ago

I can't offer any help but wanted to share a site I often visit. Lots of folks there with great advice on chickens.

Here is a link that might be useful: chickens

• pris
    14 years ago

Check out the adviseability feeding your chickens a lot of uncracked corn. They will eat it but, since they have no teeth, have a hard time digesting it. They much prefer cracked corn and if you give them a choice, they will choose the cracked corn over the whole kernel. Too much whole kernel corn reduces the amount of digestable grains they can eat.

• fancifowl