Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
amiz5904

how long after pipping should they be out?

amiz5904
18 years ago

My eggs started peeping yesterday and pipping this morning. How long before I should see them emerging?

This is my first time incubating on my own (usually I let the hens do it) - this is so exciting!

Comments (55)

• velvet_sparrow
    18 years ago

If they pipped 24 hours ago and still no chick, I'd assist a bit if the chick seems exhausted or is still with no peeping. Check the internet for sites on how to assist a hatching egg for more pointers. Gently peel the shell around the pipped area, if it is not wet and bloody go ahead and clear an area around the chicks' beak and face and let it try to get out the rest of the way by itself. You may have to peel even more, do it quickly, calmly and gently, and return it to the incubator before it can dry out and get stuck. There is a fine line between jumping in too soon--if the chick is still OK and the inside of the shell is wet and bloody--and waiting too long and having a dead chick. If you really think the chick is in distress and would die otherwise, go ahead and help. I had a RIR/Americaunas chick do that to me two years ago, it was a huge chick in a huge egg. She was the first egg to pip and the last to hatch, and I had to help her out. Today her name is Bear (due to her enormous size at hatch *L*) and she is the Head Hen of the flock. :)

Velvet ~:>

• td2593
    17 years ago

Very good info here, Thanks. My first batch of incubated eggs are starting to pip. The first chick was at day 18 late ??? Still had yolk sack ( fatal ) the second day 19 chick seems ok but weak and after 6 hrs still not walking. What is the normal time before a chick is strong enough to walk and eat drink ect...... Thanks !!

• velvet_sparrow
    17 years ago